We get calls from confused parents who have received a letter from the Washington State Department of Licensing stating that their son or daughter’s license will be suspended. Since the child is the one that attends the approved driver training course, the parent might not know all of the restrictions that come with an Intermediate License.
What is an Intermediate License?
An intermediate license is a license that is issued by the Washington State Department of Licensing to a teen driver under the age of 18. Prior to obtaining the intermediate license, the teen driver is required to obtain an instruction permit. The teen driver is required to complete at least 50 hours of driving practice, of those 50 hours of driving practice at least 10 of those hours must include driving at night. Those hours are required to be completed with a licensed driver that has been licensed for at least 5 years or more. The teen driver is required to successfully complete an approved driver training course and have their instruction permit for at least 6 months. They are also required to pass the driving test at an approved driver training and testing location.
Intermediate License Restrictions
Once the teen driver has been issued an intermediate license, there are several laws that need to be obeyed to avoid a possible suspension of the license. Once the driver has reached the age of 18 the following restrictions will not apply.
Driving with Passengers
For the first 6 months of having the intermediate driver’s license, the driver under 18 is not allowed to have passengers under the age of 20 years old with the exception of immediate family members in the vehicle while driving.
- After the first 6 months have transpired, the intermediate licensed driver can have no more than 3 passengers under the age of 20 years old who are not immediate family members.
- However, if the intermediate licensed driver is convicted of an infraction, the 6 month passenger restriction begins again on the date the ticket was found committed, or paid to the court.
Driving at Night
For the first 12 months of having the intermediate driver’s license, the teen driver is not allowed to drive between the hours of 1:00 am and 5:00 am unless there is a licensed driver over the age of 25 accompanying the teen driver in the car.
No Cell Phones
The intermediate licensed driver is not allowed to use a wireless device while driving, even with a hands-free device. This includes talking on cell phones, texting, and emailing.
Once you turn 18 years old, all restrictions will drop off of your license.
Consequences of Violation Restrictions
First violation: A warning letter will be mailed from the Washington State Department of Licensing to the parent of the intermediate licensed driver. The following list will generate a warning letter.
- The intermediate driver is issued a ticket for violating the restrictions
- The intermediate driver is issued a ticket for violating the rules of the road
- The intermediate driver is involved in an accident where:
- the intermediate driver is determined to have caused the accident
- no one involved in the accident receives a ticket
- the cause of the accident can not be determined
- there is only one car involved in the accident.
Second violation: The intermediate licensed driver will have their licensed suspended for 6 months or until they reach the age of 18, whichever comes first. The Washington State Department of Licensing will notify the intermediate licensed driver as well as the parent or guardian before they take any suspension action.
Third violation: The intermediate licensed driver will be suspended until they reach the age of 18. The Washington State Department of Licensing will notify the intermediate licensed driver as well as the parent of guardian before they take any suspension action.
Give us a Call
If you find yourself in the unfortunate situation of where you or your child has received a traffic infraction, please don’t hesitate to give Rick a call. He is an experienced traffic attorney and has been handling traffic violation cases since 1992.
If you’ve just been pulled over and would like Rick to represent you - give us a call or send us an email, we’ll get right back to you.
If you have any questions at any time throughout the process you can always call and ask the office - we are more than happy to help.
Connect with us
Come and connect with us on social media. If you use any of the networks below, we’d love to hear from you - come say hi. We are active participants in the local community and share more than just legal information