Safety Belts in Washington

Safety Belt Law

All adults are required by Washington State law to wear a safety belt while operating a motor vehicle.

Every person over the age of 16 (who is either a driver or a passenger) in a vehicle is required by law to wear a safety belt in a properly secured manner.

The driver is required to ensure that all passengers under the age of 16 are wearing a seat belt or are securely fastened in an approved child safety restraint.

There can be a written verification from a licensed physician that states that the operator or passenger is unable to use a safety belt for medical or physical reasons.

You could be issued a traffic infraction, if you violate the seat belt law of Washington State. This infraction will appear on your driving record if you are found guilty. However according to RCW 46.61.688 the traffic infraction is not available to insurance companies or employers.

Safety Belt Child Restraints

  • A child under 2 years of age must be secured in a rear-facing restraint until the child reaches the height or weight limit of the restraint system as set by the manufacturer.
  • A child who is under 4 years of age must be secured in a forward-facing restraint until the child reaches the height or weight limit of the restraint system as set by the manufacturer.
  • A child that is less than 4 feet 9 inches tall is required to be properly restrained in a child restraint system and it must comply with standards of the United States department of transportation and must be properly installed in the automobile according to the restraint instructions and the automobile automobile manufacturer.
  • A child who is under the age of 13 must ride in the back seat positions of an automobile when back seat positions are available.

Law Enforcement Officers visually inspect the installation of the child restraint system. The officer will confirm that it is the proper system for the child’s age and height. They will also confirm that it has been properly installed.

A driver who violates the child restraint law may be issued a traffic infraction.

According to RCW 46.61.687, if a driver that is issued a traffic infraction for violating the child restraint law provides proof within 7 days to the issuing jurisdiction that an approved child restraint system has been acquired and if the driver has not had previous child restraint dismissal, the issuing jurisdiction may dismiss the notice of traffic infraction.

There are many ways an experienced traffic attorney can fight your ticket for you.

Kylin Landry
Kylin Landry
Gotten many tickets dropped or the charge reduced to a non moving violation. Yes it would be great if they all could be dropped but at the end of the day my insurance is still affordable. Anyone leaving bad reviews about the Merrill's not getting a charge totally dismissed did not listen or read well enough when entering the contact as they make it very clear that both are a possibility.
Doza m
Doza m
Took care of it just like Rick said he would. Will definitely use him again in the future if needed.
Bri Adams
Bri Adams
Rick Merrill was very responsive and easy to work with, handled my case perfectly and got me the result I was after. Definitely recommend him for any of your needs.
Roman Empire
Roman Empire
Kind and professional people. Will definitely be coming back!
Abraham Tewldeberham
Abraham Tewldeberham
I want to start off by saying they have helped my family out tremendously. Their professionalism, efficiency and outstanding communication skills made our case a whole lot easier to understand and deal with.
Sylvia Magnusson
Sylvia Magnusson
Very Nice team to work with. Professional and compassionate. Will definitely recommend to anyone in need.

Call us now

To ask additional questions or to hire an experienced attorney who has deep connections with the local legal system.

(425) 259 4972

Click Here To Learn More About Traffic Tickets.

Want To Hear More From us.

You can connect with us on social media at any of the networks below.

Sign up for the Monthly Newsletter.